Kang the Conqueror, avengers kang dynasty, kang dynasty reading order, kang dynasty omnibus

Avengers: Kang Dynasty Reading Order

Avengers: Kang Dynasty is one of the most famous Avengers stories of all time. It was written by Kurt Busiek and illustrated by multiple artists including Alan Davis, Kieron Dwyer, Ivan Reis, and Manuel Garcia. Since the announcement of MCU’s Avengers movie Avengers: The Kang Dynasty, fan’s interest in this 20+ years old story increased.

Avengers: Kang Dynasty was a 16 parts crossover event run between June 2001 and August 2002. The Kurt Busiek Era came to an epic conclusion with a massive story arc that made the most effective use of long-time Avengers villain Kang ever. Kang and his grown son, Scarlet Centurion, hovered over Earth and unleash a series of attacks on the planet as a prelude to their intended takeover. Although Kang is temporarily successful, the first villain in Marvel Comics to physically take over the world in the main continuity of Marvel.

Avengers: Kang Dynasty Details

Writer – Kurt Busiek

Artists – Alan Davis, Kieron Dwyer, Ivan Reis, and Manuel Garcia

Total issues – 16

Year of publication – June 2001 to August 2002

What to read before Avengers: Kang Dynasty?

Kang Dynasty was the conclusion story arc of Kurt Busiek’s Avengers run, so a complete Avengers run is recommended, however, you can enjoy this story as a whole without any prior reading because all the issues of this series explain everything and the story is complete within core issues.

Avengers: Kang Dynasty Reading Order

  • Avengers #41 “The High Ground” (Jun 2001)
  • Avengers #42 “No More Tomorrows” (Jul 2001)
  • Avengers #43 “Global Presence” (Aug 2001)
  • Avengers Annual 2001 “The Third Man”/”Desperate Measures”/”Secrets Within” (2001)
  • Avengers #44 “Down Among the Dead Men!” (Sep 2001)
  • Avengers #45 “Life During Wartime” (Oct 2001)
  • Avengers #46 “Absolute Mastery” (Nov 2001)
  • Avengers #47 “In the Heart of Battle” (Dec 2001)
  • Avengers #48 “Warplan “A” (Jan 2002)
  • Avengers  #49 “There are No Words” (Feb 2002)
  • Avengers  #50 “Book of Revelations” (Mar 2002)
  • Avengers #51 “Prisoners – A Love Story” (Apr 2002)
  • Avengers  #52 “Counter Attack” (May 2002)
  • Avengers  #53 “The Last Castle” (Jun 2002)
  • Avengers #54 “Good Day To Die” (Jul 2002)
  • Avengers  #55 “The Last Farewell” (Aug 2002)

Avengers: Kang Dynasty Review

The story was no doubt one of the best in Marvel Comics history, but due to the involvement of multiple artists, the artwork was not that perfect as compared to the story. However, its a must-read for Avengers fans.

Visit Marvel Comics reading order for more articles like this.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *