The Outerverse Reading Order, The Outerverse, The Outerverse dark horse comics

The Outerverse Reading Order | Dark Horse Comics

The Outerverse is a terminology used for supernatural and horror expanded universe published by Dark Horse Comics. It is mostly written by Mike Mignola and Christopher Golden.

Christopher Golden co-created the famous series Baltimore in 2007 and The Outerverse is based on Baltimore.

Baltimore is a story of a British officer Lord Baltimore during World War I, he was left for dead on a battlefield in the Ardennes Forest. When he awakes, he sees the most unexpected scene: giant bat-like creatures are feeding on his dead men.

When Lord Baltimore is attacked, he fights back and wound the vampire who tried to feed on him. Baltimore himself was changed due to the fight and an alternate universe was created. In this universe, Vampires emerged from their sleep and decimated the human population.

The Outerverse Reading Order


Baltimore Vol. 1: The Plague Ships

Collects The Plague Ships

Baltimore Vol. 2: The Curse Bells

Collects The Curse Bells

Baltimore Vol. 3: A Passing Stranger and Other Stories

Collects The Widow and the Tank, A Passing Stranger, The Play, Dr. Leskovar’s Remedy, and The Inquisitor.

Baltimore Vol. 4: Chapel of Bones

Collects The Infernal Train, and Chapel of Bones.

Baltimore Vol. 5: The Apostle and the Witch of Harju

Collects The Witch of Harju, and The Wolf and the Apostle.

Baltimore Vol. 6: The Cult of the Red King

Collects The Cult of the Red King

Baltimore Vol. 7: Empty Graves

Collects Empty Graves

Baltimore Vol. 8: The Red Kingdom

Collects The Red Kingdom

Joe Golem

Joe Golem, an occult detective in New York City during the 1960s and ’70s, as he uncovers the truth behind strange happenings that threaten the city’s inhabitants. However, one of the biggest mysteries for him was his own origins.

According to Christopher Golden, the Outerverse was born when he and Mignola connected the events of Baltimore with the ones leading to the drowning of Manhattan. Here is the reading order of Joe Golem.

  • Joe Golem and the Copper Girl (prose short story)
  • Joe Golem and the Drowning City (prose novel)
  • Joe Golem: Occult Detective (comic series)
    Joe Golem: Occult Detective – Volume 1: The Rat Catcher and the Sunken Dead
    Joe Golem: Occult Detective – Volume 2: The Outer Dark
    Joe Golem: Occult Detective – Volume 3: The Drowning City
    Joe Golem: Occult Detective – Volume 4: The Conjurors

Lady Baltimore

The story takes place between Baltimore and Joe Golem.

  • Lady Baltimore – Volume 1: The Witch Queens (comic)

Tales from the Outerverse

(These are all short stories.)

  • Cojacaru the Skinner #1–2
  • Imogen of the Wyrding Way
  • The Golem Walks Among Us! #1–2

Read Other Comics Reading Order Now

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *